The Law Offices of Vickers, White, and Griffin, PLLC
Contact Us For A Free Consultation :
866-391-9990

Tireless Pursuit Of Your Goals

Alabama penalties for DUIs are serious

A single mistake can change the course of your life, particularly if it involves alcohol and a motor vehicle. Even if no one was hurt and no property was damaged, you could be facing driving under the influence (DUI) charges.

For anyone under the age of 21, a DUI could result if your BAC is over 0.02 percent. For commercial vehicle drivers, a BAC of 0.04 percent can result in a DUI. The typical adult driver must have a BAC of 0.08 percent or higher or be driving erratically to end up charged with a DUI offense.

In some cases, such as those of minors or commercial drivers, your driving doesn't need to even be impaired. A BAC over the legal limit is enough to cause a lot of legal issues. If you or someone you love is facing a DUI charge, you need an experienced Alabama criminal defense attorney to review the charges and determine the best way to fight them. Don't plead guilty or speak to law enforcement until you've had a chance to speak with an attorney about your options. Doing so could affect your life for years to come.

Alabama means business when it comes to DUIs

The penalties for DUI offenses make it clear that the state of Alabama wishes to deter driving after drinking. A first offense could result in up to a year in prison, a fine of between $500 and $2,000, an additional fine of $100 to the Impaired Drivers Trust Fund, a 90 day license suspension and DUI school attendance.

A second DUI charge after a previous conviction can result in at least 48 hours to a year in prison (or at least 20 days of community service), a fine of between $1,000 and $5,000, as well as another $100 for the Impaired Drivers Trust Fund and loss of your license for a full year.

Third time offenders with two previous convictions in five years face at least 60 days in jail but as much as a year, a fine of between $2,000 and $10,000 plus an additional $100 fine and loss of your license for three years.

Fourth offenses are felonies that carry a prison sentence of between one and ten years, a fine of between $4,000 and $10,000 and loss of your license for five years.

Form a legal defense

If you are facing a DUI charge, whether it's your first or fourth offense, you need the help of an experienced Alabama criminal defense attorney to mount a rigorous defense and prevent the worst fallout from a DUI charge.

Source: Nov. 30, -0001

No Comments

Leave a comment
Comment Information

Take The Next Step

Bold labels are required.

Contact Information
disclaimer.

The use of the Internet or this form for communication with the firm or any individual member of the firm does not establish an attorney-client relationship. Confidential or time-sensitive information should not be sent through this form.

close

Privacy Policy

Email Us For A Response

428 South Lawrence Street
Montgomery, AL 36104

Toll Free: 866-391-9990
Phone: 334-649-7363
Fax: 334-239-7408
Montgomery Law Office Map